How do I know if I shared a student with a teacher?
If you click “student actions” and then click “share student with a teacher,” you will see a window pops up indicating what teachers are receiving data about this student.
A teacher just shared their class with me, but I don’t see that roster in my account. Why?
- Make sure you have created a class. If nothing else, put yourself in the class; until you do this, you won’t be able to “receive” any students.
- When another teacher shares a class (or just a student) with you, that student automatically is put into your first class. To “move” the student into another class of yours, click the button that says “student actions” next to the student you’d like to move, then click “move student to another class of mine.” Choose the class and you’re done!
When I share a student with another teacher, what can I see regarding that student? And how about the teacher I shared the student with?
Whether you are the “owner” of that student or the teacher that “received” that student, you are able to see all the student’s data and activity in your reports.
If I shared multiple students or a student with a teacher, which class code should the student use?
The student should always us the specific class code when with the teacher they’re currently working with.
If I’m the “owner” of the student in the roster, and I give out 3 assignments, and the teacher I shared the student with gives out 2 assignments, what will the student see?
The student will see 5 assignments on their dashboard.
What happens if I “remove” a student that I’ve shared with another teacher?
Neither you nor the “receiving” teacher will see the student anymore. However, the student can be “restored” at any time by you when you go to “manage roster,” scroll to the bottom, and click “removed students.” Click “restore student” and then re-share with the teacher.
If I’m the “owner” of the student and I have focus mode turned on, will the student have to complete all assignments with me and the teacher I shared the student with?
No, the student will only be in “focus mode” in your class, as long as the student uses your class code when logging into Freckle.
What is the benefit of sharing?
- For the student, they only need to take the diagnostic pre-tests one time, and, most importantly (!!) they can aggregate their coins in one place J
- For teachers, everyone who works with the student can see comprehensive data and results for that student.